Symbols | World
Books | Store | Blog
About | Contact

Oklahoma State Mammal

Oklahoma has four official state mammals. It shares its state animal, the bison, with Kansas and Wyoming. Bison were wiped out in Oklahoma long ago, but the species survived in Wyoming and Canada. Bison have since been reintroduced to Oklahoma.

Oklahoma and Nebraska are the westernmost states that adopted the popular white-tailed deer as a state symbol. The raccoon is Oklahoma’s official furbearer, and it shares the Mexican free-tailed bat (the official flying mammal) with Texas.

Oklahoma State Mammal

What would Oklahoma be without a state horse? The Oklahoma colonial Spanish horse was named the official heritage horse in 2014.

Oklahoma State Mammal
Oklahoma HomeState Mammal Home