Symbols | World
Books | Store | Blog
About | Contact

Amphibian Symbols

Don’t let their position on the evolutionary scale fool you. Amphibians rank behind fish and even insects in popularity as symbols of the 50 U.S. states. The same is probably true of national symbols as well.

Nevertheless, there are more amphibian symbols than you might think. Let’s take a brief tour.

National Amphibians ˆ

U.S. State Amphibians ˆ

List of State Amphibians
State Species Designation
Alabama Red Hills salamander (Phaeognathus hubrichti) 2000
Arizona Arizona tree frog (Hyla eximia) 1986
California California red legged frog (Rana draytonii) 2014
Colorado western tiger salamander (Ambystoma mavortium) 2012
Georgia green tree frog (Hyla cinerea) 2005
Idaho Idaho giant salamander (Dicamptodon aterrimus) 2015
Illinois eastern tiger salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum) 2005
Kansas barred tiger salamander (Ambystoma tigrinum) 1994
Louisiana green tree frog (Hyla cinerea) 1993
Missouri bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeianus) 2005
New Hampshire red spotted newt (Notophthalmus viridescens) 1985
New Mexico New Mexico spadefoot toad (Spea multiplicata) 2003
North Carolina marbled salamander (Ambystoma opacum) Salamander 2013
  Pine Barrens tree frog (Hyla andersonii) Frog 2013
(former) bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeianus) 2007
Ohio spotted salamander (Ambystoma maculatum) 2010
  bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeianus) Frog 2010
Oklahoma bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeianus) 1997
South Carolina spotted salamander (Ambystoma maculatum) 1999
Tennessee Tennessee cave salamander (Gyrinophilus palleucus) 1995
Texas Texas toad (Bufo speciosus) 2009
Vermont northern leopard frog (Lithobates pipiens) 1998
Washington Pacific chorus frog (Pseudacris regilla) 2007

Every species listed below was designated the official amphibian unless specified otherwise in the “Designation” column.

Other Amphibians of State ˆ

Reptiles and Amphibians Home