Symbols | World
Books | Store | Blog
About | Contact

Cultural Symbols

Cultural Symbols
Local Culture
Local Culture The Arts Politix

My classification scheme divides national / state symbols into four broad categories—names and nicknames, symbols of state, ecosymbols (Nature symbols), and cultural symbols. If it isn’t a nickname, flag, motto, plant, animal, or mineral, you’ll probably find it here.

Cultural symbols are in turn divided into three subcategories. For lack of a better name, I call the larger category “local culture.” The other categories are symbols of the arts and political symbols.

Follow the links above to learn more about a particular subcategory of cultural symbols.

Culture Canada ˆ

Below is a list of Canada’s provincial cultural symbols, other than tartans.

List of Canadian Provincial Cultural Symbols
Province Symbol Designation
Alberta blue and gold (or deep yellow) Colors 1984
Ontario green and gold Colors
Saskatchewan curling Sport 2001
Northwest Territories mace   2000
Nova Scotia mace   1930
Nova Scotia Bluenose II Sailing Ambassador
New Brunswick Picture Province Fishing Fly 1993
Northwest Territories inuksuk
Prince Edward Island wordmark Wordmark
Saskatchewan wheat sheaf 1977

Culture USA ˆ

U.S. Cultural Symbols

Below are links to each U.S. state’s culture page.

Alabama Illinois Montana Rhode Island
Alaska Indiana Nebraska South Carolina
Arizona Iowa Nevada South Dakota
Arkansas Kansas New Hampshire Tennessee
California Kentucky New Jersey Texas
Colorado Louisiana New Mexico Utah
Connecticut Maine New York Vermont
Delaware Maryland North Carolina Virginia
District of Columbia Massachusetts North Dakota Washington
Florida Michigan Ohio West Virginia
Georgia Minnesota Oklahoma Wisconsin
Hawaii Mississippi Oregon Wyoming
Idaho Missouri Pennsylvania  
Alabama Kentucky North Dakota
Alaska Louisiana Ohio
Arizona Maine Oklahoma
Arkansas Maryland Oregon
California Massachusetts Pennsylvania
Colorado Michigan Rhode Island
Connecticut Minnesota South Carolina
Delaware Mississippi South Dakota
District of Columbia Missouri Tennessee
Florida Montana Texas
Georgia Nebraska Utah
Hawaii Nevada Vermont
Idaho New Hampshire Virginia
Illinois New Jersey Washington
Indiana New Mexico West Virginia
Iowa New York Wisconsin
Kansas North Carolina Wyoming
Alabama Montana
Alaska Nebraska
Arizona Nevada
Arkansas New Hampshire
California New Jersey
Colorado New Mexico
Connecticut New York
Delaware North Carolina
District of Columbia North Dakota
Florida Ohio
Georgia Oklahoma
Hawaii Oregon
Idaho Pennsylvania
Illinois Rhode Island
Indiana South Carolina
Iowa South Dakota
Kansas Tennessee
Kentucky Texas
Louisiana Utah
Maine Vermont
Maryland Virginia
Massachusetts Washington
Michigan West Virginia
Minnesota Wisconsin
Mississippi Wyoming
Symbols Home